Skip to content

vegan recipe time yay!

3 January 2012
by

I want to share one of my absolute favorite vegan recipes. It’s amazingly versatile, fairly easy to make, and could be used on carnivores, as long as they don’t have cashew allergies. It’s a cashew “cheese” sauce for pasta dishes, made primarily from cashews, nutritional yeast, milk and oil.

http://epicureanvegan.com/2010/05/23/creamy-macaroni-and-cashew-cheese/

INGREDIENTS:

1-1/4 C raw cashews

1/2 C nutritional yeast

2 tsp onion powder

1 to 2 tsp salt, to taste

1 tsp garlic powder

1/8 tsp white pepper

3-1/2 C nondairy milk

3 Tbs cornstarch

1/2 C canola oil

1/4 C light (yellow or white) miso

2 Tbs lemon juice

12-16oz macaroni, cooked (I used about 16 ounces of both small shells and rotini)

I added 1-1/2 tsp of truffle oil, but it’s optional (I recommend it)!

Sometimes I increase the ingredients by about 50% to make a few jars’ worth of sauce, and that way I have lots of leftover I can experiment with. It keeps fairly well in the fridge if sealed in a nice tight container. Last time I think I finally used the last of it on the 5th day, and it was still good to go. If you do go for bulk, I’d recommend having a nice big food processor, cause mine was just about to bubble up over the sides and center. Also, you’ll want to use a large pot instead of a saucepan when you make the milk/oil emulsion.

DIRECTIONS:

Place cashews in a large-sized bowl of the food processor and finely grind–just don’t let the cashews turn to a paste. Add nutritional yeast, onion powder, salt, garlic powder, and white pepper. Pulse three more times to blend in spices.

In a heavy saucepan, combine milk, cornstarch and oil(s). Bring to a simmer over high heat. Decrease heat to low-medium, cover and simmer, stirring occasionally for 10 minutes, or until cornstarch dissolves.

With the food processor running, gradually add milk/oil mixture to cashew/nutritional yeast mixture. Blend for 2 minutes or until smooth and creamy. Next blend in miso and lemon juice.

Combine cashew cheese with macaroni noodles and serve. You may also bake it: Preheat oven to 325 and place macaroni mixture in a 8 or 9″ square baking dish (I recommend a 9″x13″ one). Cover and bake 20 minutes. Uncover and sprinkle with 1/2 C herbed bread crumbs. Continue baking, uncovered, for 15-25 minutes until topping is golden brown. (I’m going to do this with the leftovers)! Enjoy!

I’d recommend against using soymilk, as the last time I tried this with soymilk the soy flavor just completely overpowered everything else. I have that problem a lot when I try to use soymilk in (heated) recipes- maybe it’s the brands of milk I use, or maybe that’s just a thing about soy, I dunno. Anyway, I have great success using almond milk in this and similar recipes. You could probably also use grain milk, though I would probably not use rice milk- too sweet.

Anyway, this stuff goes great on a macaroni for a cheesy-like side dish, or you can sauté up some chicken-type replacement foods like Quorn (though it probably won’t be vegan then, since most of those use egg whites for texture, booooo) or firm tofu and smother them in this for a main dish. Truly one of my favorites.

 

Read http://epicureanvegan.com/ for more amazing vegan recipes, A+++ would def. read, cook, and eat again.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. 3 January 2012 23:15

    Hey, thanks for linking the recipe and for the nice shout out. That sauce is the closest thing to crack (from what I’m told). I’ve just discovered your blog and I’m looking forward to spending more time on it. Thanks again!

    • 4 January 2012 07:52

      Oh, thank you for having a great vegan blog! We don’t post much about veganism, but we’re trying to change that. Thanks for the visit.

Have Words (commenting guidelines linked in the page header always apply)

