Skip to content

Public Service Announcement

18 January 2012
by

Yesterday I lost one of the best friends I’ve ever had.  I’m not going to say anything about him because it’s all too personal and could never do him justice.  I just want to say, please, don’t text and drive.  Ever.  Just don’t fucking do it.  Or drive tired if you can do anything to avoid it.  (I don’t know exactly what happened.  I just know that he’s gone.)

I hate goodbyes, but if there’s ever a time for them, it’s times like this.  Goodbye, Benjamin.  You’ll be missed like you wouldn’t believe.

(I want to thank irateadri at Angry Marxists and JMP at M-L-M Mayhem! for writing proper posts that I just don’t have the strength to attempt, myself.)

 

4 Comments leave one →
  1. 19 January 2012 11:48

    I’m so sorry for your loss. Take care.

  2. irateadri permalink
    20 January 2012 18:26

    I’m going to miss Ben so much, and I know you will too. Every time I read something like this, be it a comment or a blog post or a message shared among friends and comrades, I am filled with both sadness and joy. Sadness because Ben is gone in a very real sense. Joy in that so many people feel as we do about him: that he was almost unbelievably kind and good. The very definition of a good friend.

    • 20 January 2012 18:38

      If only he had believed these things about himself. But he was so humble, so concerned about always doing the right thing that he couldn’t see that he was doing it. If there is a such thing as ‘deserving’ to be happy or at least at peace, Ben deserved it.

Have Words (commenting guidelines linked in the page header always apply)

